WillowWonderings's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Picking back up old things, like this blog.

on June 28, 2020

I rediscover this blog today, a lifetime later. I guess not a literal lifetime but it feels like it. How about an update?

I’m 40, still gay, married to a major upgrade, and still mom to crazy kids. I live in Kansas with Nicole, my wife of almost three years. 5 of the kids live with us. I have to tell you that Nicole is a diamond in the rough. She is beautiful, intelligent, empathetic, well spoken, a damn good mother, and an even better wife. Every day is brighter with her in it.

B is 20 and lives in St Louis (by her choice, not mine). She’s trying hard to figure out adulthood and will take the hardest road every time. Under her hard exterior is still a sweet girl who loves her siblings more than life. N is 17 and recently moved back with me after a year with my ex. I’m really glad she’s here because she’s about my least favorite person. He loves fishing, Pokemon, and reptiles. The rest of us are a mess annoyance at this point, but he puts up with us. A is 15 and will be a sophomore in the fall. She’s bff’s with our dog Maggie and always prefers animals over people. She hates noise and crowds and it an amazing artist. L is 14, a social butterfly, a successful TikToc maker, and highly determined in everything she does. D is 13 and a self proclaimed weirdo. She’s creative, funny, and delightfully odd. And last but not least, Little B is a healthy 11 year old. He’s almost always happy and loves his mommas more than anything. He tells us all the time that we are his favorite girls.

N, A, D, and Little B have autism and ADHD. B, L, and D have learning disabilities while N, A, and Little B have intellectual developmental disabilities. B and L have more pronounced mental illness. Life isn’t easy for any of them, yet they persist. They are resilient and beautiful. So much personality! And currently, they are really tired of COVID19. Aren’t we all?

N with all his personality
Little B sort of fishing
My beautiful D
L and her big catch

So that’s us! I’ve never felt more together and that I had a beautiful complete life. I hope to update more in the days to come!

-Lindsey


Leave a comment