WillowWonderings's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Screw you, Mcdonalds

on May 24, 2012

I have an issue with the local McDs. They advertise free samples every Thursday, yet every Thursday the sample machines are broken down. Sarah had told me that they have this happen most weeks, but today I experienced it for myself.

Sarah is working full time until I go back to work. Needless to say, a month without work makes for a tight month as far as finances go. So, here I am…at home with 6 kids and pretty broke because pay day is tomorrow. I promised the kids that if they were good and did their chores, we would go somewhere. B suggested the free samples, then playing at the indoor play place. Forgetting Sarah’s previous warnings, I agreed.

In we walk with cheerful faces and socks in hand. Then the teen worker tells us that their machine is broke. I freeze. Sarah’s stories come flooding back as I think about what I can do. I smile at the kids and tell them that we should just go ahead and play any how and enjoy it.

D starts the rebellion. She crosses her arms, plants herself on the ground, and demands ice cream. I don’t take demands from children, so I ask B to pick her up and carry her to the play place (I am still on weight restrictions from my hysterectomy). When we get there, D crashes to the ground screaming. N, Little B, and B all shrug and put on their socks to play, accepting the disappointment and moving on. L and A look at their sister screaming and start doing the same.

As I get death glares from other patrons (who obviously do not have 6 angry and sad children), I weigh my options. I tell the girls that this is not the way Willows act and suggest they make the best of it and play. They didn’t care. I then say that they can stop or we can leave. The screaming continues. I ask the others if they would mind us leaving and getting them a treat through drive thru. They agree and B carries out two screamers and I have to carry out the other one even though I shouldn’t.

I go through the drive thru, get the non screamers an ice cream and we decide to still make the best of it and go to the park. The screamers calm down and the real magic happens. The ones that got the treat ask if they can share with the others. Seeing how huge this is, I say okay. They all share and talk about how we could have done that better, me included. We go to the park and laugh and play. Life goes on.

You know, McDs….you try week after week to get these kids down. If your machines suck, fix them. Don’t have free sample day. Sarah swears that that your machines work until the Willow kids show up. If that is true, shame on you. And screw you. Because no matter how much you try to get them down, they are good, sweet, kind, sharing kids. They might throw a fit two, but they still come up on top. They learn to over come disappointments and most of all, to show kindness and forgiveness to each other.  Can’t get a good Willow down.


Leave a comment